Restaurant Heaven

We’ve been in Phnom Penh for a week! So far, so great! To some of your disappointments, I have taken one picture. You will have to rely on your imagination skills. Here are some highlights of the week:

  1. Tuktuks: Ahh the open air! I enjoy riding in tuktuks way more than I thought. Just sitting back on a comfy bench, letting the wind blow through my hair while being carted around the city! Life is good. We are sorting our a driver who will cart us to school everyday. Downside: most trips are $3. More expensive than I thought.
  2. Nice weather: I don’t want to mislead you, it has been hot! Once you accept that you will be sweaty, it is sort of nice. I’ve worn sports clothes this whole week, which has helped, but our patio gets a nice breeze and sitting outside is relaxing.
  3. Restaurants: If you want it, Phnom Penh has it. Predictably, we have eaten Asian at almost every meal so far. There is food for cheap, there are restaurants to splurge on, really anything. The restaurant scene is very hip. There are lots of places with amazing patios and artsy furniture. It seems that every place is trying something new. The food we’ve had so far has been pretty delicious. The coffee too! Highlight: Korean BBQ! It’s not for everyone, but it is for us! If you like lots of side dishes, many pickled items and grilling meat at your table, come join us next time!

Canadians: There are two currencies in Cambodia. They use American dollars for everything over $1 and Cambodian Riel for everything under. I read that the Canadian dollar is up these day…what a great time to visit!

IMG_20170726_094402

My breakfast this morning. Though it was good, I think I would rather stick to sweeter, more typical breakfast items. 

4 thoughts on “Restaurant Heaven

  1. Shelley says:

    You are going to have to change your tag line at the top of your post to add Cambodia. From Canada to Brazzaville to…

  2. Linda Malito says:

    Glad to hear you like the Tuk Tuks, I really enjoyed them in Thailand, the food sounds very interesting and I can imagine with all fresh vegies, yum. Sunday we were allowed to help ourselves to some of Travis & Mandy’s fresh lettuce, kales, beets & new potatoes so have savored the fresh produce this week. Looking forward to camping & fishing with your Mom & Dad this weekend. Enjoy yourselves and I really like your place and the virtual tour video you took, big hugs.

  3. Donna says:

    Looks like you are settling in very easily. For you two foodies it looks like a heavenly deal. I’m not too sure I would enjoy noodles for breakfast very often, but once in a while I could handle,
    The Tuk Tuks sound like fun (except perhaps if it is raining). I’m glad your outdoor space is nice and breezy as it really looked like where you would be spending a lot of time.

Leave a Reply

